Vita

Karin compositional output encompasses works for solo instrument, ensemble, orchestra, electroacoustic works, live-electronics and installations. As a part of her artistic-scientific research project about poly-works, Karin has created several work series over the last years, exploring the possibilities of simultaneity and dividual performance practices.

Her compositions have been performed by such musicians and ensembles as Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Proton Bern, Ensemble SoloVoices, Antonio Politano, Steffen Schleiermacher, Ensemble Avantgarde, Leipziger Schlagzeugensemble, Prime Recorder Ensemble, Cascatelle Saxophone Quartet, Panagiotis Megarchiotis (Guitar), Daniel Lippel (Guitar), Eva Beneke (Guitar), Andrea Kiefer (accordion) and the Leise Dröhnung Duo. Her works have been featured at such festivals as the Archipel Festival Genève, Primavera en la Habana, ICMC Athens, cresc… Biennale für moderne Musik Frankfurt Rhein-Main, MATA New York, Festival Ensems Valencia and Tage für neue Musik (New Music Days) Weimar amongst others.

Karin Wetzel received scholarships from the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, the DAAD and the Swiss Government Excellence Scholarship. In 2011 she was Artist in Residence at the Villa Aurora in Los Angeles.

Karin studied composition and music theory with Gerhard Tittel, Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, Isabel Mundry and Gesine Schröder and enriched her studies through exchange semesters at the Sibelius Academy Helsinki and the CNSM Paris. She holds degrees in composition and music theory from the University of Music and Theatre Leipzig and a master in electracoustic composition from the Zurich University of the Arts as a student of Germán Toro-Pérez. In 2012/13 Karin joined the Bern University of the Arts to teach music theory and listening/intonation. As of 2014 she is Doctoral candidate at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz. Her research project “Concepts of poly-works in the 20th/21st century” is funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Vita

Karins Arbeiten umfassen Solowerke, Ensemble- und Orchestermusik, elektroakustische Werke und Installationen. Einhergehend mit einer vertieften theoretischen Auseinandersetzung zum Poly-Werk, entwickelte Karin in den letzten Jahren mehrere Werkreihen, die sowohl einzelne als auch simultane Aufführungsformen ermöglichen und tradierte Aufführungspraktiken neu befragen.

Ihre Kompositionen wurden u.a. durch Musiker und Ensembles wie dem Ensemble Modern, Johannes Kalitzke, Ensemble Proton Bern, Ensemble SoloVoices, Antonio Politano, Prime Recorder Ensemble, Ensemble Avantgarde, Steffen Schleiermacher, Leipziger Schlagzeugensemble, Cascatelle Saxophone Quartet, Panagiotis Megarchiotis (Gitarre), Daniel Lippel (Gitarre), Eva Beneke (Gitarre), Andrea Kiefer (Akkordeon) und dem Duo Leise Dröhnung aufgeführt. Ihre Werke waren auf Festivals wie dem Archipel Festival Genève, Primavera en la Habana, ICMC Athen, MATA Festival New York, cresc… Biennale Frankfurt, Festival Ensems Valencia und den Tagen für Neue Musik Weimar zu hören.

Sie erhielt Stipendien der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, des DAAD und war 2011 Artist in Residence in der Villa Aurora in Los Angeles.

Karin studierte Komposition und Musiktheorie bei Gerhard Tittel in Berlin, sowie bei Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf und Gesine Schröder an der HMT Leipzig, ergänzt durch Auslandssemester an der Sibelius Akademie Helsinki und am CNSM Paris. Im Anschluss studierte sie elektroakustische Komposition an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste bei Germán Toro-Pérez und Isabel Mundry. 2012/13 Unterrichtsvertretung Musiktheorie und Gehörbildung an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Ihr künstlerisch-wissenschaftliches Doktorat an der Kunstuniversität Graz über das Poly-Werk schloss sie mit Auszeichnung ab. Ihr Forschungsprojekt “Konzepte des Polywerks in der Musik des 20./21. Jahrhunderts” wurde durch ein Schweizer-Bundes-Exzellenz-Stipendium und durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds gefördert.